NMREC Requirements and Continuing Education

January 11, 2017

NMREC Requirements and Continuing Education

  • 36 hours of CE, composing of: 

    • 4-hour NMREC Core Course OR 8 hour NMREC Mandatory course (which is no longer offered), remember the 4 hour NMREC Core Course is an annual requirement

    • 4-hour ethics elective 

    • 4 hour “core elective” (not to be confused with the NMREC Core Course).  These are courses which have received a “core elective” designation by the NMREC

For the Core Course Schedule and other course schedules and online offerings, please click on the following link (be patient; it takes a while to load up) Core Course Offerings.

 
For access to the Catalog of approved courses including active links to online options, please click on the following link: Approved Courses


On Line Courses: Some of the approved schools and sponsors have on-line offerings. You can see on line offerings by clicking Online Offerings  

 

Exemption from Continuing Education: The only exemption to the continuing education requirement applies ONLY to brokers who have attained sixty-five (65) years of age AND have attained twenty (20) years continuous years of licensure in New Mexico prior to July 1, 2011. This is an exemption created in the Statutes of New Mexico.


Qualifying Broker Refresher Applies to All QBs: All active qualifying brokers are required to successfully complete a six (6) hour qualifying broker refresher course as a condition of license renewal or as a condition of reinstatement of qualifying broker status regardless of age or years of licensure. 


Training Hours vs. Education Hours:  Ten (10) credit hours may be credited toward the continuing education requirement from approved training category courses. Twenty-six (26) must be taken from approved education category courses

 

Pre-licensing Courses as Continuing Education: Commission approved pre-licensing courses may count for up to ten (10) credit hours toward continuing education if the course is being used to upgrade from associate broker to qualifying broker. 


New Broker Business Practices or CCIM 101 Post Licensing Requirement: By NMREC Rule, either the New Broker Business Practices or the CCIM 101 Course is to be taken by all new Associate Broker licensees within the first year of licensure. The commission approved thirty (30 classroom hour) New Broker Business Practices course may count for up to ten (10) credit hours toward continuing education. 

  • No commission approved continuing education course will be granted more than ten (10) credit hours of continuing education credit.

  • Continuing education credit hours cannot be carried forward to the next licensing cycle.

  • Brokers may receive four (4) approved education course credit hours during each licensing cycle for attending commission meetings, rules hearings, and disciplinary hearings as well as the meetings of the Educational Advisory Committee

RANM has a Continuing Education Calendar that is up to date with course offerings around New Mexico.  The Las Cruces NMREC Core Class on 1/13 is full, there are still a few openings in the NMREC Core Class in Santa Fe at the winter conference on 1/27, you can register here.
 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Recent Posts

August 3, 2020

Please reload

Archive